Painting Furniture: Not Your Grandma’s Sewing Table

What it is supposed to look like.

What it is supposed to look like.

     I spent a whole day putting together a sewing table. As it started to take shape, I realized just how drab it really was. I had a grandma’s sewing table. Don’t get me wrong: grandmas are dope, but their sense of decor usually isn’t. I’ll be damned if I don’t personalize everything I own some way or another, so I decided to spruce it up with some craft paint.

Painted handles

Green is a very hip color.

The handles were easy enough. Instead of leaving them a dull black, I applied a few coats of green craft paint and sealed it with matte varnish to keep it from chipping.

Masking tape is essential.

Rub the masking tape so no paint can get under it.

For the panels: After bordering the areas I wanted to paint with masking tape, I laid down a base coat of white acrylic and later two coats of different shades of green paint in an alternating pattern. To top it off, I applied a coat of matte varnish.

Lookin' good!

Looking better already.

Almost done! Doesn’t it look better already? I’m thinking of adding polka dots in different shades of green in that boring space above the painted panels…

Leave a Reply

